African Studies Association of the UK – New Monograph Prize

By dsw|September 25, 2015|Unknown|0 comments

The ASAUK Fage & Oliver Monograph Prize (Inaugural Award)

The African Studies Association UK (ASAUK) invites publishers to nominate titles for the Fage & Oliver Prize. The ASAUK presents the Fage & OIiver Prize to the author of an outstanding original scholarly work published on Africa during the preceding 2 years. John Donnelly Fage (1921-2002) and Roland Oliver (1923-2014) were pioneers of British African Studies. After a decade teaching in the University of the Gold Coast, Fage spent the rest of his career at Birmingham University where he founded the Centre for West African Studies (CWAS). With Oliver he founded The Journal of African History (1960). Oliver taught at the School of Oriental and African Studies (1948 -1986). He was one of the founders of the African Studies Association of the United Kingdom (1963) and played a major role in the establishment of the British Institute in Eastern Africa.

The winner of the Fage & Oliver Prize is announced at the Biennial ASAUK Conference. A list of the finalists for the Prize will be published in the programme of the meeting and on the ASAUK’s website.

Nominations are made directly by publishers who may nominate no more than 3 titles. Eligible titles would be original non-fiction scholarly works published in English (or translated into English) and distributed in the United Kingdom. Entries from all continents meeting these criteria are welcome. We especially welcome nominations from small and independent publishers. Publishers must supply 3 copies of each title submitted.

The subject matter would have to significantly deal with Africa and/or related areas (Cape Verde, Madagascar, or Indian Ocean Islands off the East African coast). Collections and compilations, proceedings of symposia, new editions of previously published books, bibliographies, and dictionaries would not be eligible. Only books with a 2014 or 2015 copyright are eligible for the 2016 Prize. The deadline for submissions is 31 December 2015.

Nominated monographs should be sent to:

Dr Toby Green,

Lecturer in Lusophone African History and Culture

Departments of History and Spanish, Portuguese and Latin American Studies

Virginia Woolf Building VWB 5.28

King’s College London

22 Kingsway

London WC2B 6NR

Share this Post:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>