– June 2017 – Queer Asia Conference


To donate please visit: https://soas.hubbub.net/p/queerasia2017 or our website: https://queerasia.wordpress.com/donate/

There are so many talented LGBTQ identifying artists, researchers and activists struggling in queerphobic environments and with limited financial support. We are raising funds to enable them to share their work and research on a wider platform and faciliate an inter-Asia dialogue. As well as building QueerAsia as a sustainable network and online platform.

Who we are?

We are a platform for activists, academics, artists and researchers to collaborate, network, create awareness, on issues around gender and sexuality affecting people in Asia, the diaspora and beyond.

Our Story

The  “Queer” Asia  Conference is the first ever Asia centered conference on queerness/ queer theory/ LGBT issues/ themes. The next edition of the conference will be held at SOAS, University of London on the 16th and 17th of June, 2017. The aim of the conference is to bring together a wide range of academics and activists working at the intersections of “Queer” and “Asia.” It facilitates an interdisciplinary and inter-regional exchange of ideas, builds enriching networks towards beginning a pan-Asian dialogue on LGBT and/or Queer struggles in Asia. By donating to ‘Queer’ Asia you would be vital to enabling these important conversations and be crucial to building these movements!

Where will the money go?

Last year we supported activists such as Amir Ashour (from Iraqueer in Iraq), Bryan Choong (from Oogachaga in Singapore), Ghiwa Sayegh (from Kohl in Lebanon), Film makers such as Fan Popo (from China), academics and lawyers such as Arvind Narrain (from the Alternative Lawyers Forum in India), and Drag artists such as Asifa Lahore (the first Pakistani Muslim Drag Queen in the UK) to share their work with over 600 participants at our two day conference.

This year we hope to support similar remarkable individuals and organisations from Taiwan, Brunei, Korea, Hong Kong, Malaysia, India, Bangladesh and Iran.